Golf Classic – a great success.

Our Cavanaghs of Fermoy sponsored Golf Classic took place last weekend and it turned out to be a great success. The weather was absolutely beautiful and Fermoy Golf course was in splendid condition thanks mainly to the great work of the grounds staff and came in for great praise from all those who played in the classic. There were some great scores over the two days and some great golf was played by all those who took fort.
The overall winners were the team representing Rathcormac tyres of Fr P.J O’Driscoll, Lisa McLaughlin and Niall Gormley with a fantastic score of 58.7points.

The Club would like to thank most sincerely Seanie Barry and Cavanaghs of Fermoy for their continued and very generous sponsorship and to all those who sponsored teams, tee – boxes and prizes for the draw, again a sincere thank you and without whose support the Classic would not be held again and are fewer found wanting when it comes to supporting the clubs fund raising events.
The Club would also like to thank Fermoy Golf Club, Denis Twomey manager, John Morrison captain, the catering staff, the bar staff and especially thank the ground staff for having the course in such splendid condition and for giving us the use of their excellent facilities and especially with the Captains prize on the same weekend.
The club would also like to thank all those who went out and got teams, tee boxes and other sponsorships but especially a big thank you to our Chairman Aidan O Mahony who put a tremendous amount of work in organising the event and worked tiresely day and night to help to make the classic the success that it was. On behalf of the club a big thank you to all involved.

The full results were

1 st Rathcormac Tyres (Fr P.J O’Driscoll, Lisa McLaughlin and Noel Gormley 58.7pts

2 nd Shinnicks Spar: John Mulvihill, Rita Mulvihill and John O’Grady 62.2points

3 rd Oliver Doyle, Donal O’Donoghue and Jon Baylor 62.2points

4 th Don Byrne, Sean O’Brien and James Corcoran 62.7points

5 th Mike Walsh’s Pharmacy Team, Paddy Flynn, Pat Lane and Kevin O’ Keeffe 63.5points

In the non G.U.I Section the winners were:

1 st Kilworth Celtic, Kenneth Condon, Aidan Condon and Jamie Condon 56.8points

2 nd Aidan McCarthy, Mark O’Brien and Jimmy Quaid 61.3points

3 rd Paul Howard, Barry Johnson and Dave O Gorman 62.6points

4 th Emmett Hull, Aidan O Mahony and Kenneth Anderson 64.6points

5 th Ross McCarthyy, Frank Power and Ewan O Connell 64.7points

The winner of the longest drive was Evan O Connell (Ross McCarthy’s team).

The winner of the nearest to pin was Aidan Condon (Kilworth Celtic Team).